Education Technology Action Group (ETAG)

Set up by the UK Government to look at Technolgoy in Education from 3 to 23

etag_mission ETAG Heppell 2

Some graphics that illustrate the themes and challenges for the Group

The group was set up in February 2014 by three ministers: Michael Gove, Matthew Hancock and David Willetts and followed on from good work done by the DfE group and by the Further Education Learning Technology Action Group.


ETAG's remit covers schools, colleges and universities.



Professor Stephen Heppell (chair) @stephenheppell

Mark Chambers (Naace),

Professor Angela McFarlane (King's College London),

Ian Fordham, (Education Foundation)

James Penny, (European Electronique),

Maren Deepwell (ALT),

Professor Diana Laurillard (University of London),

Jill Lanning (Federation of Awarding Bodies).

Phil Richards (JISC),

David Hughes (NIACE),

Bryan Mathers (CGLI),

Pauline Odulinski (EFT),

Manoj Badale, (Blenheim-Chalcott),

Bob Harrison (education adviser for Toshiba)

David Brown (HMI),

Professor Peter Twining (Open University),

Niel McLean (e-skills UK)

This graphic by our chairman

Stephen Heppell

This graphic by Bryan Mathers

This graphic by me

The group is chaired by Stephen Heppell

Link here to his ETAG page